Coalition could face loss in vote for Judicial Selection Committee

The opposition may have a shot at victory in Wednesday’s vote to determine which MKs will be on the committees to appoint candidates to judicial positions.

The coalition teamed up with Yisrael Beytenu for a combined 67 votes for their candidates, but the vote is by secret ballot, and larger coalitions have failed where the current, 61-seat one hopes to succeed.

The candidates for the judicial selection committee are MKs Robert Ilatov (Yisrael Beytenu), Ayelet Nahmias Verbin (Zionist Union), Nurit Koren (Likud) and Ofer Shelah (Yesh Atid), and for the Jewish religious courts are MKs Yisrael Eichler (UTJ), Nava Boker (Likud) and Revital Swid (Zionist Union). In both cases, MKs must choose two candidates and one must be female.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *