Government leaves most settlements out of tax-break list

The government decided to leave its criteria for periphery towns to receive tax benefits as planned on Sunday, despite Bayit Yehudi MKs’ demands that they add more settlements to the list.

The Knesset Finance Committee will vote tomorrow on increasing the amount of towns eligible for the tax break from 192 to 407, with the cost rising from NIS 850 million to NIS 1.2 billion. At the same time, several municipalities that previously received the benefit will no longer be eligible.

Kiryat Arba and other settlements near Hebron were included in the original slate of periphery towns that receive a six percent tax break, because it met the same criteria as the other municipalities, and on Sunday, the government added Jewish residents of Hebron to the list, following a meeting between the leaders of coalition parties.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *