Knesset C’tee set to select representative for picking next Attorney-General

The race for the next Attorney-General moved another step forward as the Knesset Constitution Law and Justice Committee announced on Monday that it will select its representative on the powerful five member selection committee on Wednesday.

The nominees for the position are Committee Chairman Nissan Slomianski (Bayit Yehudi), MK Eli Alaloof (Kulanu), Mk Karin Elharar (Yesh Atid) and MK Tzipi Livni (Zionist Union.)

Current Attorney-General Yehuda Weinstein is slated to step down in January and the state’s various political power centers have been maneuvering for influence on the five member committee which will select his successor.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *