Maccabi TA clinches third straight national league championship

It may have seemed like a foregone conclusion long ago, but Maccabi Tel Aviv finally made it official on Sunday night, beating Ironi Kiryat Shmona 2-1 at Bloomfield Stadium to wrap up its third consecutive Premier League championship.

Maccabi has been in cruise control for more than a month since defeating Hapoel Beersheba 3-1 and opening an eight-point gap at the top of the standings.

The yellow-and-blue won just one of the following five matches, but still clinched the title with two games to spare on Sunday, joining Maccabi Haifa (2004-2006) as the only teams in the past 51 years to claim three straight championships. The only club to win more than three in a row is Hapoel Petah Tikva, which took five consecutive league titles between 1959 and 1963.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *