Netanyahu buries death penalty bill despite likely majority in ministerial committee

The Ministerial Committee for Legislation postponed the vote on a Yisrael Beytenu bill making it easier to sentence terrorists to death by three months on Sunday, opting to form a committee on the topic instead.

As of Sunday morning, it seemed likely that the Ministerial Committee for Legislation would approve the bill. Justice Minister Ayelet Shaked and Agriculture Minister Uri Ariel of Bayit Yehudi, as well as Likud’s Immigration and Absorption Minister Ze’ev Elkin, Culture and Sport Minister Miri Regev, Science and Technology Minister Danny Danon and Minister Without Portfolio Ofir Akunis all said publicly that they supported the death penalty for terrorists, while Tourism Minister Yariv Levin was the only Likud minister who spoke out against it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *