Netanyahu: Other democratic countries allow expulsion of Parliament members

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu responded to criticism of the suspension bill during a Likud faction meeting on Monday, listing various democratic countries that allow for the expulsion of parliament members through a government vote.

The suspension process as described in the bill would begin with a request signed by 61 MKs, which would have to be approved by at least three-quarters of the Knesset House Committee’s members, and then brought to the plenum where at least 90 lawmakers would have to vote in its favor for it to take effect.

"In the United States, this issue is enshrined in the Constitution," explained Netanyahu. "Congress can impeach a member due to misconduct with a two-thirds majority vote."


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *