Netanyahu under scrutiny for ‘political interference’ in Israel Prize for Literature

The scandal surrounding the Israel Prize for Literature reached its peak on Thursday as Prof. Ephraim Hazan, the last remaining member of the judging committee, resigned from his position.

Earlier this week it was revealed that the Office of the Prime Minister rejected the candidacy of Professors Avner Holtzman and Ariel Hirschfeld, two members of the judges’ panel of the Israel Prize for Literature and renowned Israeli filmmaker Chaim Sharir, a judge for the Israel Prize in Film.

This move prompted severe criticism and backlash, resulting in six noted Israeli authors and academics resigning from the judges’ panel for the Israel Prize in Literature, stating "the clear politicization of the prize" and casting doubt on whether the prize will even be awarded this year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *