UN elects new Security Council members, Israel plans to run for 2018-2019

NEW YORK – The United Nations General Assembly elected Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden and Kazakhstan to be non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for the 2017-2018 term on Tuesday.

A fifth non-permanent member was elected After multiple rounds of inconclusive voting Italy and Netherlands decided to split the seat.

The Council is composed of 15 Members. Five of them – China, France, Russia, the UK and the USA – are permanent and hold veto power. The 10 remaining ones are non-permanent and elected for two-year terms.

Source: http://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/Politics-And-Diplomacy/UN-elects-new-Security-Council-members-Israel-plans-to-run-for-2018-2019-458001

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *