UN elects new Security Council members; Israel plans to run for 2018-2019

NEW YORK – The UN General Assembly has elected Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden, and Kazakhstan to be non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for the 2017-2018 term.

Sources familiar with the Security Council election process told the Post that Israel has already submitted its candidacy for the 2018-2019 term within the Western European and Others regional group to which it belongs.

Israel is one of the 67 UN Member States that have never been members of the Security Council.

Source: http://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/Politics-And-Diplomacy/UN-elects-new-Security-Council-members-Israel-plans-to-run-for-2018-2019-458013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *