UN to elect Security Council members

NEW YORK – The United Nations General Assembly will elect five new non-permanent members of the Security Council for the 2017-2018 term on Tuesday.

The council is composed of 15 members.

Five of them – China, France, Russia, the UK and the USA – are permanent and hold veto power. The 10 remaining ones are elected for two-year terms.

Source: http://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/UN-to-elect-Security-Council-members-457926

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *